Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.2 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome Guest!
Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.
If you don't have an account, apply for one now.
    • CommentAuthor2013Celiac
    • CommentTimeMay 26th 2015

Hi - I'm new to salicylate sensitivity. I've suspected it for a few months and have slowly cut out high salicylate foods, noticing improvements along the way. Recently, I've gone all-in on a low salicylate diet for a true test, and results are generally positive. Headaches are much better, I feel more alert, much less foggy, that's all good. The bad part, my stomach and digestion has been much worse, to the point of being very problematic.

I also have celiac and a dairy intolerance, so things get more complicated. Gluten free breads generally have multiple ingredients, some of which are high salicylate. I have eaten very little of this stuff anyway, but with the stomach issues I have had since going low salicylate, I kind of need something to calm it. The other thing that helps tremendously for me is coconut milk - how safe is that on a low salicylate diet? Coconut seems to be on the low end of moderate, is it possible to keep drinking small amounts (an ounce of two) of it? That is enough to help immensely. There is one flax milk, but I can not have it as it contains carrageenan where I live, and I can't have that either. Rice milk generally has carrageenan as well, Rice Dream is not safe for many celiacs as it uses a barley enzyme and while it tests at a less than 20 ppm gluten, I react to trace amounts.