Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.2 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome Guest!
Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.
If you don't have an account, apply for one now.
    • CommentAuthorncsmom
    • CommentTimeJan 27th 2017

Hi everyone. I have Celiac and SAL sensitivity. I am just getting into drinking kefir, and tried kombucha for the first time yesterday. I purchased it at Wholefoods, so only drank a small amount due to the fact it was made with caffeinated tea. I hope to start making my own soon, plus fermented foods.

If anyone else has been doing this for awhile, I would love to hear about it, and also some recipes you use. Also, I read one thread (from years ago) where one person stated they could eat SAL containing fermented food, because the fermentation process changes the composition of the food (even with spices added). Has anyone else found this to be the case? If so, what foods (fermented) can you eat that you otherwise cannot?

Thank you for any help you might offer.

Debbie
    • CommentAuthorSheila
    • CommentTimeFeb 12th 2017

Good luck with your trial.
    I can't eat ANYTHING fermented because of amines, vinegars, cheese, yoghurt etc etc.
    I also have a mold allergy, possibly thats the reason.
    • CommentAuthorlindyd
    • CommentTimeFeb 14th 2017

I can't eat anything fermented either.. I have never been able to since childhood.
    • CommentAuthorSheila
    • CommentTimeFeb 14th 2017

Nor me lindyd. I have never been able to take alcohol in any form, even a Babycham would make me go weak, just one !!!!!!!!
    But I wasn't event allergic then.
    Never liked wine or anything anyway.
    • CommentAuthorlindyd
    • CommentTimeFeb 15th 2017

Strangely I used to be able to drink babycham in my younger days..it was the one drink I could do in moderation I think it because it's made from pears rather than grapes. xx
    • CommentAuthorncsmom