Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.2 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Welcome Guest!
Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.
If you don't have an account, apply for one now.
    • CommentAuthormorpheus17
    • CommentTimeFeb 12th 2017 edited

Hi everyone, I'm new here and am in the learning and preparation phase. I just started learning about this protocol this week. According to the book by St. Anand, the rule is to avoid plant-based oil, extract, and gel; also any product with "sal" in its name. But what about...
    - Saline solution? (I use it for my contact lenses) and anything else salt-based (epsom salts, etc)
    - Vegetable oil, canola oil, olive oil? If so, are there any oils I can use for cooking? I understand corn oil is ok, and coconut oil is not ok?
    - Herbs for cooking (oregano, basil) whether dried or fresh?
    - Stevia? I think I read it's ok, but since it's made with stevia extract, and stevia is from a plant, how is this ok?

Thanks!
    • CommentAuthorlindyd
    • CommentTimeFeb 14th 2017

Hi
    The general rule is if it comes from a PLANT then it will have some level of salicylate. The level can vary depending on the type of plant, the season the plant was grown in, if it is organic, the stage of growth of the plant etc. Salicylate is one of the chemicals a plant produces to help defend itself.
    Herbs/spices are a definite NO for most people.
    Salicylates are not generally in animal products.Obviously manufacturing methods can add salicylate containing ingredients to foods.
    If it is MINERAL then it will not contain sals. Saline solution is ok ...Salt is a mineral so is fine. Some people may react to salt/minerals but it will not be due to sals.
    Epsom salts can be helpful but go easy as they can cause loose bowels..even if used for soaking.